1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Lake Valor!
    Catch, train, and evolve Pokémon while you explore our community. Make friends, and grow your collection.

Login or Sign Up

Games That Make You Want to Talk to NPCs

Discussion in 'Video Games' started by Wizard, Jun 25, 2024.

1. Wizard

Wizard Do you feel it? The moon's power!

Pansage
    (Pansage)
    Level 2
    PokéPoints:
    ₽9,931.6
    As I started playing Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door yesterday, I quickly discovered that NPCs in the game have interesting and funny things to say and, in many cases, unique backstories and character details. This led to me walking around and meeting as many NPCs as possible.

Are there any games that make you want to talk to every NPC? What is the driving force that causes you to do this in those games? Is there any reward for doing so?

Answer continued:
    It's rare that I find a game that has NPC dialogue interesting enough to get me to slow down and talk to everybody. I don't necessarily need a reward from this dialogue, but I want the dialogue to be worthwhile. Skyrim is probably the first game that comes to mind in this discussion. Many of Skyrim's quests are found behind NPC dialogue, thus encouraging the player to talk to everybody they encounter. This game also benefits from having fun voice acting and silly, if not memorable, dialogue.

I don't need to be deeply rewarded for talking to NPCs. I just want to find something interesting and to experience something of worth, even if it's just a funny little line of dialogue.

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. Neb

Neb Cosmog Enthusiast

AZ
    (Flabébé (O))
    Level 23
    PokéPoints:
    ₽2,844.1
    GS Ball ★★★★★Love Ball ★★★★★Poké Ball ★Potion ★Oran Berry ★★