1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Lake Valor!
    Catch, train, and evolve Pokémon while you explore our community. Make friends, and grow your collection.

Login or Sign Up

PC Genshin Impact vs Nintendo (Designs)

Discussion in 'Video Games' started by Roaming Ashes, Feb 15, 2021.

1. Roaming Ashes

Roaming Ashes Bug Catcher

Toroweap
    (Bagon)
    Level 2
    PokéPoints:
    ₽150.2
    So this is something I've been thinking about for a long time, since I started playing Genshin back in November, but just how much inspiration does the game take from Nintendo?

There's the obvious connection between BOTW and it, what with the art style and certain animated scenes. The first 10 minutes is almost a 1-to-1 recreation of BOTW's intro, such as how the blond haired protag slowly come up the hill to a cliff, where the camera shows a grand view of the surrounding lush green landscape. Even the direction you walk down as you are given the ability to start exploring the field you've come across is similar.

[​IMG]
    (screenshot of BOTW's cliff scene)

[​IMG]
    (Screenshot of Genshin's cliff scene)

Now, I don't fault the developers going down this path in the early development of the game. I believe BOTW created/popularized a whole sub-genre of open-world gaming. Genshin is exploring the concept with it's own world and lore, which is enough to draw in a crowd that didn't play BOTW yet. Plus, it being free helps it.