1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Lake Valor!
    Catch, train, and evolve Pokémon while you explore our community. Make friends, and grow your collection.

Login or Sign Up

Self taught vs Academically taught

Discussion in 'Creative Zone' started by awney, Sep 22, 2018.

1. awney

awney i'm lame

Hoopa Egg
    (Hoopa Egg)
    Level 24
    PokéPoints:
    ₽179.0
    Legendary Triforce ★★
    Most artists I run into are self taught because they start at a really young age. Do you guys think being self taught is better than being academically taught, or even vice versa?

I think that both are equally just as good. Self taught artists usually have to learn the hard stuff themselves like fundamentals. While academically taught artists have it a little easier because well..they're taught how to do it. Stylistically though, I think self taught artists have an advantage.

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. Morgaine

Morgaine Goddess of Shinies

Bolero
    (Litleo ♀)
    Level 3
    PokéPoints:
    ₽5.7
    Crown of ValorSoothe Bell ★Heart Scale ★★Ice Stone ★★★★
    I am a self-taught artist. I did have some instruction in the form of art class, but that wasn't as much instruction as a way to keep us from going nuts.

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Shadria

Shadria Impish Illusionary Kitsune

Lucan
    (Ralts ♂)
    Level 6
    PokéPoints:
    ₽501.7
    Black Glasses ★★★★Friend Ball ★★★★Park Ball ★★★Helix Fossil ★★★Sun Stone ★★★
    I'm a bit of both. I started self-taught as my kindergarten and grade school lacked funds for proper art classes, but come high school I attended art for all 4 years, and even went to some public art groups after I graduated.