1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Lake Valor!
    Catch, train, and evolve Pokémon while you explore our community. Make friends, and grow your collection.

Login or Sign Up

Installing GIMP, and making basic signatures. Advanced ones on request.

Discussion in 'Creative Zone' started by LoN, Feb 7, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LoN

LoN

PokéPoints:
    ₽0.0
    I'm mostly posting this for those who want to give it a go, but cannot get their hands on Photoshop. GIMP is a suitable free alternative that is more than capable of doing this kind of work! Even if you think you have zero artistic talent, you can do this kind of thing if you're dedicated. I am one of those people who has zero natural artistic talent, entirely self taught :D

I spent around 4-5 years using GIMP, and I also made my most popular piece on my dA with GIMP. Some people knock on it for "not being Photoshop" or "not being as good", but its fine!

[​IMG]
    400+ favs and 3000+ views says so :D

Ok, let's get the installation sorted. For some people, this'll be easy, but for others not so. I could do this in five minutes or less, but I know others who could spend hours slaving over it.

I'm assuming we're all on Windows here, if you're not, shout out now and I'll do my best to help you out shortly.

To download GIMP, click here: http://www.gimp.org/downloads/ It is likely that you'll be aiming for the top link about Windows.

Save the file to your desktop, and once it's downloaded install it to wherever you wish to. I put mine in my H:// drive, but I doubt you have that. Keep in mind where you installed it!!!!

Right... now, you -should- have a GIMP icon on your desktop or, if you chose not to have a shortcut, somewhere on your start menu. Don't open it yet!